Show as: Mobile

Study in Croatia

Study in Croatia

Croatia stretches from the eastern edges of the Alps in the north-west to the Pannonian lowlands and the banks of the Danube in the east. The landscape is varied since the central region covers the Dinara mountain range, and its southern parts extend to the coast of the Adriatic Sea. Come here to study an enjoy a rich historical and cultural heritage alongside the beautiful environment!

Study abroad in Croatia?

Croatia is famous for its rich historical heritage. The folklore culture with its folk music is strongly connected to the country but Croatia also has an exquisite natural heritage. Island groups such as Brijuni, Krka and the Kornati Islands all offer beautiful settings for discovering your own Croatia.

The Croatian Education System

There are two types of higher education institutions to choose between in :

- polytechnic schools (veleucilište), which are higher level education
- universities (sveucilište), which constitute highest level education

Croatia signed the Bologna declaration in 2001 and the first students begun their studies under the new system in the academic year 2005/2006. Since the adjustments were made, the levels of expertise offered at both polytechnic schools and universities are:

- Bachelor of Science and Bachelor of Arts (prvostupnik)
- Master of Science and Master of Arts (magistar)
- Doctor of Science and Doctor of Arts (doktor)

The purpose of the Bologna process is to create educational standards for academic degrees and quality assurance, in order to make it easier for students to move from one European country to another and to improve the overall quality of European higher education. The system also incorporates aspects of the American higher education system and thus simplifies comparison. The Bologna System uses the European Credit Transfer System (ECTS) to measure the amount of higher education credits.

Croatian Universities

There are currently eight universities in Croatia, all located in one of the larger cities:

- University of Zagreb
University of Split
University of Rijeka
University of Osijek
University of Zadar
University of Dubrovnik
University of Pula
Dubrovnik International University

Croatian Polytechnic schools

There are currently twelve public polytechnic schools in Croatia located in the following cities:

- Zagreb
- Dubrovnik
- Karlovac
- Vukovar
- Gospic
- Knin
- Pozega
- Rijeka
- Varazdin
- Slavonski
- Brod
- Šibenik

Application to study at Croatian institutions

Students apply directly to the University or polytechnic school he/she is interested in, there is no central application system.


Last update: 19 Apr 2016